Novori Diamonds  
4 C's : cut, color, carat, and clarity   
color sample grade

Diamond Colors Colors in a diamond

Diamond Color Grade

The Gemological Institute of America (GIA) color grading scale is the most internationally accepted color scale in the diamond industry. The GIA color scale begins at 'D' which is pure or colorless and continues on through 23 color steps to 'Z' which can be light yellow or light brown.

The changes in color is so subtle that it is nearly impossible for an untrained observer to tell the difference from one step to the next (E to F for example.)

Colors D, E and F are considered to be 'colorless', but an F color grade is typically substantially cheaper due to the rarity of D or E color grades. G,H,I and J are all considered 'nearly colorless'. Novori will not sell a diamond with a color grade lower than J. While not as critical as a diamond's cut, an above average color grade can improve a diamonds brilliance and sparkle effect.
close window